Being Woman Enough To Admit When I’m Wrong

billy-kidman-the-shooting-star_cover

Many parts of life can be unpredictable, and writing books is no exception.

Today’s blog post is admitting and correcting a mistake. I’m going to discuss an important issue only once before moving forward to additional work on my upcoming novel, Rise.

Some of you are likely going to hear stories – if you already haven’t – so it’s important that I tell my side before things end up possibly being blown out of proportion.

Spending years in therapy and participating in empowerment groups taught me not only to stand my ground when I know I’m right, but also be woman enough to own my mistakes and admit when I’m wrong.

Now on to address that issue:

Billy Kidman: The Shooting Star sold far more copies worldwide than I’d expected from its initial March 2014 release, and I am grateful to everyone for your continued support.

Since that time, new information surfaced I found important to include in an updated version sent to my publisher earlier this week, albeit my displeasure as to how discovering the aforementioned information was handled. I’ll briefly cover that point in a few minutes.

Along with correcting some minor errors spotted during the task of revisions, I’ve added new entries in the Additional Reading, The Music and Verified Social Media/Profles/Fan Pages listings not included in the book’s previous version.

I consider Billy Kidman: The Shooting Star the biggest achievement of my writing career to date, and will continue aiming to make it accurate as possible. Whether you are a reader, a fan, feedback – both good and bad – is always welcome.

While we’re discussing feedback, a signed copy was sent in mid-April to the subject of my book which also included my contact information. Apparently there was a problem with some contents to which I was unaware until he opened a Twitter account earlier this week and made comments to a few people – including Don.

Before I continue, let me emphasize that I’m more disappointed than angry with the outcome, but strongly feel it should’ve been handled in a more professional manner than randomly put out on social media. That I can forgive; what is difficult to get past are reasons why someone didn’t make efforts to pick up a phone or at least send an email to discuss said problem(s) within the last two months? Why wait until now?

I guess I’ll never know…but I’m not going to stress over it.

In any event, my opinion of the guy hasn’t changed; I still admire his work – both past and present – and harbor no hard feelings. Life’s too short.

I hope all of you have a blessed and safe weekend. Take care.

Leave a Reply

