With Gratitude and Thanks

happy-thanksgiving-1024x768

Thanksgiving is being celebrated today in America, a day to give thanks for what we have.

What am I thankful for? I woke up this morning. I have a roof over my head, food in my cupboards, shoes for my feet, clothes in my closet, and other things of which we take advantage each day. I’m thankful for my cats Popeye and Tiger. I’m thankful for friends and the people I’ve met as both author and person. I’m thankful to have found a few family members alive and well (or rather they found me, I forget which), supportive friends who helped get me through some rough times, and a Powerful Being greater than myself who looks over me each day.

I’m thankful for the doctors, nurses, aides, social workers, and physical therapists who played roles in my recent surgery in mid-September and ongoing recovery process. My left knee still hurts and recovering is a long process, but I’m focused on how this time next year I’ll be pain-free (and minus stiff, cracking knee joints) for the first time in almost 20 years, once again participating in activities I had to give up when severe arthritis made them impossible to continue. I don’t know who invented replacement joints, but I’d loved to have shaken their hand(s). I’m thankful to have had this option available, allowing me to stand and walk instead of practically immobile like Mom was at my age.

I’m thankful for having my independence. I can do my own cooking, clean my own apartment, do my own laundry, and other “activities of daily living.” Sure, I’ve had to make a few adjustments since getting a little older, but who hasn’t from time to time? Lots of people I know need help with the smallest tasks, which makes me even more thankful for each thing I can do on my own.

 

Power Play cover

I’m thankful for being given the gift of writing. What began as a tool to help me communicate effectively in my early years since too shy to verbally interact with others is now a vocation I’m thankful to share with the world. On that note, I offer thanks to my readers and fans for each success experienced the past five years.

I expected Power Play to have a running start in October like some new releases tend to do before eventually dropping into near-obscurity (if any interest was expressed at all), so one could imagine my surprise when it cracked into the top three books while still on pre-order status before hitting the #1 spot on Kindle Store’s hockey books chart during the month of October. Even as we head toward the end of November, Power Play still remained in the top ten hockey best sellers on Amazon Kindle – and it’s been up against some heavy hitters. None of this would’ve ever been possible without readers like you. I only wish I could personally thank everyone.

With gratitude from me to you, I wish all a happy, safe, and blessed Thanksgiving. I don’t do Black Friday, but if it’s one of your traditions, be careful out there. Much love to all!

Leave a Reply

