#BoycottPaulBlake: A Book Cover Male Model Bullies Authors On Social Media

boycott paul blake

Before delving into my latest blog post, I want to thank New York Times and USA Today best selling author Harper Sloan for bringing up an important topic yesterday on Facebook. Be warned some subsequent comments are a bit raw, but considering the subject at hand, it’s easy to understand why so many fellow authors are angry.

I normally don’t get involved in “controversial” subjects, so to speak, but this is something close to my heart. Not only did I attempt suicide a few times in my late teens through my mid-30’s and been treated for Major Depressive Disorder (MDD) since being diagnosed at age 21, but also battled with my weight long as I’ve existed on Earth.

I was on a good weight loss path until undergoing two total knee replacement surgeries in 2015, a complex and painful procedure from which one doesn’t recover overnight (it actually takes 12-18 months to completely heal). My physical activity level was compromised for periods of time as a result, I’d fallen back into old lifestyle habits, and gained back weight I’d worked to lose (and then some) prior to the surgeries. Now working with a health coach, I’ve resumed being active while aiming towards a size I’m happy with – not the unrealistic image society dictates.

Which brings me to a book cover model named Paul Blake. There are three people in life you never want to piss off: the one who prepare your food, work on your hair, and authors. Authors may come from different walks of life and write a variety of genres, but when someone hurts one, the offender better prepare to take on the rest of us.

Let me quote Mr. Blake’s eloquent first post on social telling an author to kill themselves:

“Lori Garside you should go eat your last Dairy Queen Blizzard and then hang yourself in the closet.”

paul blake post

Here is another example of Mr. Blake’s fine character:

paul blake post 2

Body shaming is bad enough, but it is not okay to tell someone to commit suicide. Many of us know at least one person who lost their life in such a fashion or are survivors of suicide themselves. I don’t know if this guy is on steroids or not – it isn’t my place to judge – but the irony of him body shaming women is he used to be overweight!

Unfortunately Paul Blake hasn’t stopped with hateful and nasty posts. A book cover model’s success is determined by authors, and incensing at least one author can potentially break that model’s career. In today’s modern technology and popularity of social media, word is much easier to spread, so let this be a warning to other book cover models.

Apparently Mr. Blake assumes all female authors are non-working women sitting at their computers eating ice cream all day. What he fails to realize is many of these women juggle writing careers, “regular” jobs, charity work, and families (while writing remains my primary vocation, I recently began a brand ambassador position with Broadcast65, which I’ll discuss in a future blog post). He’s also complained about people who post about body shaming, accusing them of “promoting obesity,” not to mention he’s a hypocrite in general.

Authors, ask yourselves: Do you want the image of such a person emblazoned on covers of your books? I think not, which is why I’m spreading the word to boycott him. Other people lost jobs for posting less harmful things on social media, so why should he get away with it? Here are his accounts I managed to find:

Paul Blake Facebook
Paul Blake Instagram (the coward has since made it private)

You can also read additional details about his actions on CreativeWriter.com.

Authors and readers, #BoycottPaulBlake and let it be known appalling behavior of his and others will not be tolerated in silence by the author community.

12 thoughts on “#BoycottPaulBlake: A Book Cover Male Model Bullies Authors On Social Media

  1. Thank you for sharing this and for speaking out. This subject is close to my heart too. I’ve struggled with my weight and with major depression all my life. In fact, I just gained an additional 20 pounds in the past month due to a new medication I’m taking for depression. Taunting a person and telling them to commit suicide is just about as low as it gets. Someone who would do such a thing doesn’t deserve a spot on any book covers. I hope he never makes another dime off the author community. What a horrible person!

    1. There are many reasons people struggle with weight; contrary to popular belief, it isn’t always a “lifestyle choice” as many ableists/sizephobics like to push onto the masses. What is sad this man was once overweight himself. You’d think he’d be more compassionate but unfortunately that isn’t the case. Hopefully authors calling out his appalling behavior will sink in, but it isn’t likely he’ll take such a lesson to heart anytime soon.

  2. Reblogged this on Rhani DChae and commented:
    I am reblogging this because I agree that people need to be held accountable for their actions. I know nothing about the world of book cover models, but I know plenty about dealing with emotional and physical weight related issues. He seems to feel that because he has lost wait, he now has the right to criticize people who are still struggling to do the same. This is a mean-spirited, tiny little man, who needs to learn that this kind of behavior will not be tolerated.

  3. I reblogged this on As The Spirit Moves Me. It’s clear that his weight loss came with a huge dose of superiority because he did what others have yet to do, and I find that deplorable. I wonder what his reaction would have been, had he read a post like his while he was still struggling with his own weight. I’m sure he would have been outraged, and most likely would have joined everyone else in boycotting whoever had written that post.

  4. Reblogged this on So, I Read This Book Today and commented:
    This idiot should be ashamed of himself. I have known people who have died from the shame they felt from bullies. I myself suffered from Major Depressive Disorder from the time I was quite small, and my own mother’s bullying caused my attempted suicide twice before I ran away at 16 to escape her cruelty. Yes, I was heavy. I also had a brain disorder that caused the extra weight. There wasn’t anything I could do for it. I didn’t find out about it till I was 30, and saw a doctor for my depression.

    Subsequent years brought meds that balance my depression and panic attacks, and another med to stop the chemical that was fooling my body into thinking I was starving to death. I was tremendously fit for many years from a regime of meds and four hours a day, everyy day, in the gym and running. But I still remember my childhood and mourn the person I might have been had I not been bullied so viciously. The idea that this bully can deride the very people who pay his bills disgusts me more than I can say. Hey, these days I am heavy again – a combination of age, aggressive chemotherapy that messed my body up completely, and just plain deciding that I just need to be healthy, not skinny or over-muscled. Yes, I have a wide ass. So what? If I feel good, and my doctor likes my blood pressure and cholesterol levels, anyone who doesn’t like what I look like can piss in one hand and bitch in the other and see which fills up first.

    I hope all authors out there will remember what this person has said and refuse to hire him. Better yet, make new covers for their books and make sure he doesn’t get royalties. No one should be subjected to bullying – and this guy should be made to pay.

Leave a Reply

